GUEST FILM REVIEW: The Man From U.N.C.L.E

A very warm welcome to Wayward Wolf’s first ever guest writer.!

Introducing, Mr Parvez Siddiqui!

“This is my first review of any kind, and I would like to thank Hugh for asking me to contribute to his Wayward Wolf blog page”

OK, where to begin. I guess the place to start is the feeling of seeing a re-boot of an iconic show from the 60s. The sharp fashions and chemistry of Robert Vaughan and David McCallum as Napoleon Solo and Illya Kuryakin was something that I remember as a child, and the kind of spy japes they used to get into, and then quite smoothly get out of again.

Knowing that Guy Richie was involved in directing this movie looked like it could be an exciting prospect, as he made a magnificent spectacle of the Sherlock Holmes universe, and to move into 60s spy chic would be uber-cool.

On opening, and the introduction of Henry Cavill and Armie Hammer in the lead roles was explosive, with a meeting over Checkpoint Charlie. They completely got my attention, and I settled in for a rollercoaster ride.

However, it turned out more rollercoaster like than I hoped, as it ended nearly as soon as it began.

The story seemed to weave in and out of finding people for information, and then promptly losing them again, and chasing around stunning European locations, with villains hot on their heels.

Cavill as Napoleon Solo looked exactly like Superman in a suit 2 sizes too small, which ironically is exactly what he was, and Hammer looked like a flat capped yokel with a decent Russian accent  Alicia Vikander shines as the female lead, who played her role in a sultry, smart and funny manner as the glue between the two guys. A mention should be made for Hugh Grant, but his involvement, like this sentence, was fleeting. If this is how the CIA and KGB collaborated during the Cold War period, then it’s of no wonder that it went on for so long.

If you’d like to see Europe as how it would have been in the 60s, then this is the movie for you. For me, I was looking at my watch 30 minutes after the film began, sighing, and thinking about the remaining time I had to sit in my seat, in which I got more restless as time passed.

I wanted much more from Guy Richie in this movie, because fashion style and looking good is not enough for any movie anymore, and I think he already knows this.

Next time I get on a rollercoaster, I would like to get off with a big smile on my face, and wanting to queue up to ride it again.

Parvez

 

Leave a Reply

